Posted on Monday 18th June, 2018


ELEVEN WRFL stars have been selected in the initial Vic Metro team following their efforts at last month’s AFL Victoria WorkSafe Community Championships.

Nick Buykx (Werribee Districts), Liam Cavanagh (Sunshine), Ben Said (St Albans), Lewis Tudor (Caroline Springs), Tom Donoghue (St Albans), Daniel Schibeci (Werribee Districts), Nick Ryan (Spotswood), Kyle Galloway (Caroline Springs), Johnathan O’Brien (Albion), Rex Hickman (Caroline Springs) and Luke Goetz (Altona) were picked in the 34-man squad that was announced today.

The WRFL had the most selections from any other metropolitan leagues.

The Eastern Football League, who are the number one ranked league in Victoria only had seven players picked.

Training will now commence for the Vic Metro team, with the final squads to be released closer to the match.

Vic Metro, to be coached by Footscray legend Brian Royal, will take on Vic Country on Sunday, July 8 at Mars Stadium in Ballarat.

Click here to see the full squad.