Posted on Monday 13th May, 2019


Point Cook Centrals 1 and Sunshine 1 remain undefeated after four rounds of the Victoria University Netball competition.

The Sharks’ shooting line-up continues to impress, as they defeated Point Cook Red by 47 goals on Friday night.

Rebecca Hicks shot an incredible 64 goals in the victory.

The Sharks have scored 237 goals in their first four games this season, the most goals of any other team in the Division 1 competition.

Sunshine defeated North Sunshine 47-13. Ani and Roiroi Naicovi starred in the Kangaroos victory.

North Footscray made it two wins in as many weeks, after they defeated Point Cook Centrals 2 in what was a low scoring game.

The Devils led by one goal at the three-quarter time break, but shot eight goals to two in the final quarter to score a 23 to 16 win.

A 23 to eight first half sealed victory for Point Cook Blue over Braybrook Priest.

Defenders Eliza Roughead and Jane Goodier played well in defence for the Bulldogs. The dynamic duo grabbed a lot of defensive rebounds and provided a lot of run for their team.

The final score was 38-20.

Braybrook Whitten scored a three-goal win over Spotswood Gold.

Scores were tied at the half-way point of the game and only a couple of goals separated the two teams thereafter.

It was Braybrook who scored three more goals in the third term, which was the difference in the end. The final score was 35-32.

In Division 2, Braybrook Hawkins and Spotswood Green also remain undefeated.

Braybrook Hawkins defeated Albion 40-23.

Gabrielle Clark and Ashlee Bertocci played well for the ladder-leaders.

Spotswood Green scored a 20-goal victory over Glen Orden Brown.

Manor Lakes scored its third win, defeating Sunshine 2 40-27.

Storm shooter Janine Long proved pivotal in the match, she shot 31 goals in the victory.

In the final game of the round, Glen Orden Gold defeated Point Cook White 39-23.

Round 5 – May 17

Division 1

North Footscray v North Sunshine

Spotswood Gold v Braybrook Priest

Point Cook Blue v Point Cook Centrals 2

Sunshine 1 v Point Cook Red

Point Cook Centrals 1 v Braybrook Whitten

Division 2

Glen Orden Brown v Albion

Point Cook White v Braybrook Hawkins

Spotswood Green v Sunshine 2

Manor Lakes v Glen Orden Gold