Posted on Monday 16th September, 2019



Fourth time’s the charm.

Not quite how the saying goes, but Yarraville-Seddon won’t mind as they ended three consecutive Division 2 Grand Final losses with a comprehensive 66-point thrashing of minor premiers Wyndhamvale, capping off a wonderful season.

Nerves played a part early in the season decider as both sides started slowly, but as they did in their semi-final clash two weeks ago, the Eagles rode the natural up and down nature of form over the course of a long quarter and did enough to lead at the first break by a point.

Jesse Varsamakis terrorised the Falcons in their Round 8 clash earlier this season and looked well on his way to doing the same in the second term. His ability to play out of the goal square and at centre half forward proved difficult to stop throughout the season and the Grand Final did not differ.

Yarraville Seddon pushed their lead to 25 at the main break on the back of four goals, they looked in prime position to end their hoodoo.

The long break and subsequent restart did nothing to stop the Eagles’ onslaught, continuing on with another four majors that saw the premiers add eight goals to two over the second and third terms in total.

Whatever Wyndhamvale threw at Yarraville Seddon just did not work as they trailed at every break including the last, a 43-point deficit that wasn’t made up in the fourth quarter as they managed just three behinds.

The season’s last quarter was party time for the Eagles as they celebrated their drought-breaking premiership win with four more goals, two from Andrejs Everitt, as they ran out 14.16 (100) to 4.10 (34) winners.

The Eagles’ Karan Bharathi was voted best-on in the final.

The loss ends what was a tremendous season for Wyndhamvale, having lost just one game all regular season, but unable to overcome the might of the Eagles in both finals the teams played. The disappointing result should take nothing away from their accomplishments.

The 2019 season ends with the Yarraville-Seddon Eagles flying on top as premiers.

In the Reserves, the Eagles won their fourth straight premiership, defeating Parkside 8.6-54 def. Parkside 6.5-41. Best on Ground was Jai Nabulwad, from Yarraville Seddon.