Posted on Thursday 15th March, 2018


Twenty-three WRFL juniors will pull on the Western Jets jumper this season.

Players from Altona Juniors, Werribee Districts, Caroline Springs, St Albans, Williamstown Juniors, St Bernard’s and Spotswood have all secured a spot on the Jets’ list for 2018.

Werribee Districts leads the way with eight players in the squad, while the Vikings have six players in the team including Under 17 Best and Fairest winner Karan Bharathi.

Last year, three players were drafted from the Jets, number one pick Cameron Rayner, 22nd pick Lachlan Fogarty and 72nd pick Tristan Xerri. Both Fogarty and Xerri played in the WRFL as juniors.

WRFL players in the Western Jets’ 2018 squad:

Altona Juniors: Karan Bharathi, Daniel Bolkas, Tyler Kolynuik, Spencer Johnson, Jack Papachatzakis, and Emerson Jeka.

Werribee Districts: Mathiang Chak, Josh Kellett, Connor Thar, Daly Andrews, Jaden Rice, Hamish Murphy, Lachlan Rzanovski and Noah Shaw.

Caroline Springs: Steven Kyriazis and Mason Bawden.

St Albans: Malwal Maguang and Buku Khamis.

Williamstown Juniors: Will Smyth and Tom Warner.

St Bernards: Xavier O’Halloran.

Spotswood: Ethan Bentley and Keelan Crimmins.

The Western Jets’ first TAC Cup game is on March 23. The team takes on the Calder Cannons at Rams Arena at 7pm.