Posted on Friday 29th September, 2023


More than 300 people came together last night to celebrate the best of the west at the 2023 WRFL Senior Presentation evening.

Players, coaches, umpires, sponsors, league, and club officials took centre stage at Marvel Stadium as the WRFL presented a range of prestigious awards including the coveted Barry Priest Medal.

Here is a list of the 2023 Award winners:

Unsung Hero Award – Ray O’Hara, Yarraville Seddon Eagles

Lindsay Patching Club Official of the Year – Katrina Eishold, Altona

Boundary Umpire of the Year – Thomas Giallo

Goal Umpire of the Year – Lee Simon

Field Umpire of the Year – Dean McGowan

Rookie of the Year (Male) – Kobe Cikala, Yarraville Seddon Eagles

Rookie of the Year (Female) – Jessica Spall, Werribee Centrals

MVP – Ashlin Brown, Hoppers Crossing & Daniel Burton, Point Cook & Michael Selsby, Yarraville Seddon Eagles

Senior Coach of the Year – Chris Gilham, Werribee Districts

Female Coach of the Year – Alex O’Shea, Caroline Springs

Netball Division 1 – Kimberly Philipps, Spotswood Gold

Netball Division 2 – Sarah Bates, North Footscray Red

Netball Division 3 – Kailee Shaw, Albion Cats White & Tahneisha Clfford, Spotswood Black

Netball Division 4 – Zoe Piccolo, Glen Orden Blue

Netball Division 5 – Jacinta Fuzy, Laverton Black

Netball Division 6 – Bronte Hermansson, Point Cook Centrals Mako Sharks

Under 18 Division 2 Best & Fairest – Jude Elcheikh, Sunshine

Under 18 Division 1 Best & Fairest – Cooper Mullens, Point Cook

Victoria University Polytechnic Under 18 Girls Best & Fairest – Charlie O’Connor Moreira, Point Cook

Rookie Me Division 3 Reserves – Aaron Campbell, Tarneit

Division 2 Reserves – Trent Waring, Sunshine

TIV Division 1 Reserves – Brock Spiteri, Werribee Districts

Victoria University Polytechnic Senior Women’s Division 2 – Chloe Muus, Wyndhamvale

Victoria University Polytechnic Senior Women’s Division 1 – Molly Althouse, Spotswood

Ron & Thelma Angwin Medal (Rookie Me Division 3 Seniors Best & Fairest) – Daniel Hovey, Suns

Alan Smith Medal (Division 2 Seniors Best & Fairest) – Shaun Campbell, Parkside

Barry Priest Medal (TIV Division 1 Seniors Best & Fairest) – Dillon Viojo-Rainbow, Werribee Districts


Click here to see all the football votes.

Click here to see all the netball votes.