Posted on Wednesday 7th September, 2022


Hoppers Crossing star Ashlin Brown has been voted as the Western Region Football League TIV Division 1 Most Valuable Player for 2022.

Brown was voted by the Division 1 coaches as the MVP, capping off an impressive season with the Warriors.

Brown, polled 19 votes, six votes ahead of Deer Park’s Bailey Morrish.

Now in its 11th year, the Most Valuable Player recognises the WRFL’s best overall senior player in the Division 1 competition.

Using the 5, 4, 3, 2, 1 system, coaches voted for the players that were not necessarily the ‘best player,’ but one who embodies leadership, versatility, ability to play under pressure, skill and courage, respect for all umpires and overall value to their team.

Five senior coaches gave Brown votes.

MVP Club Total
Ashlin Brown Hoppers Crossing 19
Bailey Morrish Deer Park 13
Josh Pickess Hoppers Crossing 12
Ryan Allan Caroline Springs 9
Nick Buykx Point Cook 8
Steven O’Bryan Spotswood 7
Dillon Viojo-Rainbow Werribee Districts 6
Josh Bench Altona 6
Brandon Lester Yarraville Seddon Eagles 5
Steve Kyriazis Caroline Springs 5
Saad El-Hawli Altona 5
Liam Read Caroline Springs 5
Connor Menadue Altona 4
Josh Cubillo Caroline Springs 4
Ethan Jackson Sunshine 4
Levi Greenwood Deer Park 3
Max Tessari Caroline Springs 3
Mitch Turnbull Altona 3
Daniel Nielsen Werribee Districts 3
Luke Denny Point Cook 3
Scott Greenhough Deer Park 3
Dylan Laurie Caroline Springs 2
Taylor Whitford Altona 2
Jack Dorgan Hoppers Crossing 2
Patrick Taban St Albans 2
Andrew Panayi Werribee Districts 2
Elliot Cavallaro Altona 2
Trent Lee Werribee Districts 2
Hisham Kerbatieh Sunshine 2
Belal Abou-Eid Sunshine 1
Cooper Pepi St Albans 1
Jack Sims St Albans 1
Keenan O’Shea Caroline Springs 1